Professor Bridget Crawford named as winner of the 2021 Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement

September 9, 2021
Professor Bridget Crawford

Professor Bridget Crawford has been named as the winner of the 2021 Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement. The Richard Ottinger Faculty Achievement Award is awarded annually by the Faculty Development Committee, in consultation with the Dean, in recognition of a full-time professor’s outstanding service to the law school, the legal profession, or both. The award generally is based on the faculty member’s outstanding service during the previous academic year.

In announcing the award to Professor Crawford, Professor Margot Pollans, as chair of the Faculty Development Committee, remarked:

“Bridget Crawford is a tireless advocate for this Law School, for our students, and for the faculty. We celebrate her work as a scholar, and the many ways in which she has used her own work to advance the scholarly reputation of the Law School. We also celebrate Professor Crawford’s commitment to the creation of innovative programming that enables alumni to remain connected to and support the community, to elevate the work of our faculty scholars, and to help raise the scholarly profile of the Law School among peer institutions. Through all this work, Professor Crawford models the kind of generosity and entrepreneurialism that is at the heart of the Haub Law spirit and she has made a significant contribution to our community. Thank you, Professor Crawford!”

The Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement is named in honor of Richard L. Ottinger, who served in the United States House of Representatives for eight terms, from 1965 to 1971 and from 1975 to 1985. Ottinger was Dean of the Law School from 1994 to 1999 and is the founder of the Pace Energy Project, now known as the Pace Energy and Climate Center. To learn more about the Richard Ottinger Faculty Achievement Award and other faculty designations and awards click here.

Bridget Crawford has been a member of the Pace faculty since 2003. She teaches courses in Federal Income Taxation, Wills, Trust & Estates and Corporations, among others. Professor Crawford is the author of three casebooks and over 100 law review articles.  Most recently, she was named as a University Distinguished Professor, the highest honor the University can bestow on a faculty member, in recognition of extensive, extraordinary research and scholarship, outstanding teaching, and exemplary service to the University, community, and the faculty member’s professional field. In addition to the Richard Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement, Professor Crawford has also been recognized with many other major faculty awards and designations from Haub Law, including the Barbara C. Salken Outstanding Professor of the Year Award, the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Goettel Prize for Faculty Scholarship, and she also was appointed and served as the James D. Hopkins Professor of Law from 2017-2019.

You May Also Like