Professor Emily Gold Waldman Recognized with 2023 Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement

September 22, 2023
Professor Emily Waldman

Professor Emily Gold Waldman has been named the recipient of the 2023 Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement. The Richard Ottinger Faculty Achievement Award is awarded annually by the Faculty Development Committee, in consultation with the Dean, in recognition of a full-time professor’s outstanding service to the law school, the legal profession, or both. The award generally is based on the faculty member’s outstanding service during the previous academic year.

Professor Alexander K.A. Greenawalt, chair of the Faculty Development Committee, remarked: “The award recognizes Professor Waldman’s extraordinary service spearheading the Law School’s self-study process, a time-consuming, detail-oriented, multi-year project that is necessary for receiving re-accreditation from the American Bar Association. Professor Waldman undertook this work on top of her responsibilities as Associate Dean for Faculty Development while also dedicating substantial time to various committees including the Faculty Appointments committee which is responsible for recruiting new faculty. She has done all of this while continuing to publish scholarship and to teach the next generation of Haub Law students.”

The Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement is named in honor of Richard L. Ottinger, who served in the United States House of Representatives for eight terms, from 1965 to 1971 and from 1975 to 1985. Ottinger was Dean of the Law School from 1994 to 1999 and is the founder of the Pace Energy Project, now known as the Pace Energy and Climate Center. Learn more about the Richard Ottinger Faculty Achievement Award and other faculty designations and awards.

Professor Emily Gold Waldman joined the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University faculty in 2006, after clerking for the Honorable Robert A. Katzmann, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. She teaches Constitutional Law, Law & Education, Employment Law Survey, and Civil Procedure. She has also served for many years as the Faculty Director of the law school's Federal Judicial Honors Program, which places students in externships with federal judges in the Second Circuit, Third Circuit, Southern District of New York, Eastern District of New York, and District of Connecticut. Prior to joining Haub Law, from 2003-05, Professor Waldman practiced in the litigation department of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP. Prior to that, she clerked for the Honorable William G. Young, U.S. District Judge for the District of Massachusetts. She served as the chair of the AALS Section on Education Law during the 2011-12 school year, is a member of the Executive Committee of the AALS Section on Employment Discrimination, and is also a member of the Second Circuit's Judicial Council Committee on Civic Education & Public Engagement. Professor Waldman received the Law School's Ottinger Award for Faculty Achievement in 2015 and 2018, the Professor of the Year Award from the Black Law Students Association in 2013, and the Goettel Prize for Faculty Scholarship in 2008. She currently serves as the Associate Dean for Faculty Development.

You May Also Like