Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy

Haub Medal Ceremony

The Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy is granted annually by the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University and recognizes exceptional accomplishments in the field of environmental law and diplomacy.  It is the most prestigious award of its kind.

A jury comprised of eminent leaders in the field of environmental law and diplomacy is responsible for selecting the recipient of the Award which is conferred each Spring. 

a student

Call for Nominations

The Dean of the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University invites nominations for consideration by the Jury for the 2020 Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy. 

A nomination for the Award may be submitted by any institution, international organization, diplomat, or any other person qualified in the field of environmental law and policy, including former lauerates.  Members of the Jury may also initiate nominations for the Award.  Nominations may be submitted for an individual or for a governmental or intergovernmental organization, or for an indigenous peoples organization, or for a non-governmental organization.

A jury comprised of eminent leaders in the field of environmental law and diplomacy is responsible for selecting the recipient of the Award which will be conferred in spring 2020.

Nominations should be sent to the Elisabeth Haub Award Jury, c/o Narinder Kakar, Secretary of the Jury, Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Pace University, 78 North Broadway, White Plains, New York 10603 USA  (if post marked before 5:00 p.m. or 1700 hours Eastern Standard Time) on Friday, 1 November 2019, or via email to EHAwardNominations@law.pace.edu.

Nominations should include any relevant information that can inform the jury’s selection of the Laureate.  In the case of individual candidates, nominations must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae which includes information on all the activities and publications of the candidate in the area of environmental law and diplomacy.

Criteria for the Award

The Award may be granted for any of the following accomplishments:

  1. Contributions which have generally led to the progressive development of environmental law and policy;
  2. Particular practical success in specific instances as well as initiatives leading to a new idea or concept in the field of environmental law and policy of one or several countries.


The jury will convene to select the 2020 laureate and then a public announcement of the selection will follow.


2020 Award Jury Members

Dr. Grethel Aguilar, Acting Director General, International Union for the Conservation of Nature

Horace Anderson, Dean, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University

Jonas Ebbesson, Professor of Environmental Law and Director Stockholm Environmental Law and Policy Centre, Stockholm University

Liliane Haub, Environmental Advocate and Pace University Board of Trustees Member

Patricia Kameri-Mbote, Founding Research Director of International Environmental Law Research Centre, Dean and Professor of Law, University of Nairobi

Rose Lesley Kautoke, Senior Advisor, Permanent Mission of Tonga to the UN

Katrina Fischer Kuh, Haub Distinguished Professor of Environmental Law, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University

Elizabeth Maruma Mrema, Director, Law Division United Nations Environment Programme

Smita Narula, Haub Distinguished Professor of International Law, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University

Tianbao Qin, Luojia Professor of Law, Wuhan University

Nicholas A. Robinson, Executive Governor, International Council of Environmental Law, University Professor on the Environment and Gilbert and Sarah Kerlin Distinguished Professor of Environmental Law Emeritus

Dr. Rômulo Sampaio, Partner, Reis & Sampaio LLP

Past Laureates

2018 Stephen C. McCaffrey (USA)
As Special Rapporteur of the UN Convention on International Water Courses and Sustained Leadership Building International Environmental Law
2017 Reinhard Josef Krapp (Germany)
For exceptional and sustained commitment to advancing multilateral policy to further sustainable development and environmental values globally
2016 Christiana Figueres (Costa Rica)
In Recognition of her Remarkable Diplomatic Achievements as the Architect of the Paris Climate Accords
2015 Antonio Herman Benjamin (Brazil)

Luis Alberto Figueiredo (Brazil)
For his service to biodiversity when he served as Brazil’s Minister of Foreign Affairs
2014 Richard Macrory (United Kingdom)
2013 Marc Pallemaerts (Belgium)
2012 Lubna Bint Khalid Al Qasimi
For Sustained and Innovative Leadership Establishing the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
2012 Koh Kheng Lian (Singapore)
2011 Alan Boyle (Scotland)
2010 Biliana Cicin-Sain
For her outstanding contributions to the international efforts to preserve the world’s oceans and several international agreements related to them
2009 Julio Barboza For his outstanding service to international environmental governance

Donald Kaniaru (Kenya)
2008 Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (Switzerland)

Hilario G. Davide, Jr. (Philippines)
For his exceptional leadership in building consensus for the adoption of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples by the United Nations General Assembly
2007 Françoise Burhenne-Guilmin (Belgium)

David Freestone (United Kingdom)

Mohamed A. Sahnoun (Algeria)
For His Role in the Negotiation of Agreements Crucial to Sustainable Development
2006 Dinah Shelton (USA)
Thomas A. Mensah (Ghana)

Klaus Töpfer (Germany)
For excellence in leading UNEP and advancing global environmental stewardship
2005 James MacNeill (Canada)
For facilitating “Our Common Future” leading the United Nations to convene the 1992 Earth Summit

Phillippe Sands (United Kingdom)
2004 Mohamed El-Ashry (Egypt)
In recognition of his extraordinary service to the Global Environment Fund

Ramón Ojeda Mestre (Mexico)
2003 Peter H. Sand (Germany)
2002 Askar Akaev (Kyrgyzstan)
For initiating and inspiring the United Nations Year of the Mountains

Mohamed Ali Mekouar (Morocco)
2001 Bagher Asadi (Iran)
For distinguished accomplishments in securing developing Nations’ support for UNEP, the Kyoto Protocol and establishment of the United Nations Forest Forum

Ludwig Krämer (Germany)
2000 Veit Koester (Denmark)
For extraordinary contributions to negotiation of the Convention on Biological Diversity and other multilateral environmental agreements

Akio Morishima (Japan)

Tuiloma Neroni Slade (Samoa)
For inspired leadership of the United Nations Initiative for Small Island Developing States
1999 Johan Gerrit Lammers (Netherlands)

Bo John Kjellen (Sweden)
For distinguished service leading negotiations of the Convention on Desertification<

Tan Sri Razali Ismail (Malaysia)
For his initiatives in the Special Sessions of the United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development with positive participation by Civil Society
1998 Parvez Hassan (Pakistan)
1997 Günther Handl (Austria)
1996 Tommy Thong-Bee Koh (Singapore)
1995 Patrick Széll (United Kingdom)
1994 Edith Brown-Weiss (USA)
1993 Winfried Lang (Austria)
1992 Nicholas A. Robinson (USA)
1991 Hubert Bocken (Belgium)
1990 Andronico Oduogo Adede (Kenya)
1989 Zdenek Madar (Czechoslovakia)
1988 Cyrille de Klemm (France)
1987 Reinhard Ganten (Germany)
1986 Michael Bothe (Germany)
1985 Paulo Affonso Leme Machado (Brazil)
1984 Charles Okidi (Kenya)
1983 Heribert Rausch (Switzerland)
1982 Louis-Paul Suetens (Belgium)
1981 Mateo J. Magarinos de Mello (Uruguay)
1980 Russell Train (USA)
1979 Alexandre-Charles Kiss (Hungary)
Oleg Stepanovitch Kolbasov (USSR)
1978 Guillermo Cano (Germany)
Eckhard Rehbinder (Argentina)
1977 Joseph L. Sax (USA)
Henri Smets (Belgium)
1976 Jacques Hoeffler (Belgium)
Michel Prieur (France)
1975 Wolfgang Burhenne (Germany)
Waclaw Brzezinski (Poland)
Michel Despax (France)
1974 Michel Carpentier (France)
Jean-Paul Harroy (Belgium)
Jean Lamarque (France)