Haub Law Celebrates Outstanding Students and Faculty at Commencement Awards Ceremony

May 18, 2022
Haub Law Commencement Award Ceremony

The Elisabeth Haub School of Law School at Pace University honored outstanding members of the Class of 2022, as well as distinguished faculty and staff on Friday, May 13th at Mansion on Broadway, a stately and historic venue in White Plains, New York. The evening was enjoyed by students, families, friends, staff, and faculty who came together to celebrate the accomplishments of the awardees. 

The Haub Law Student Bar Association created five award categories based on important values of the law school. These categories included the Brightest Light Award, the Co-Counsel Award, the Community Award,  the Underdog Award, and the annual Adolph Homburger Humanitarian Award. Students were nominated by their peers to receive these significant awards and the recipients were ultimately selected by a class-wide vote. Additionally, the Dean’s Award – personally selected by Dean Horace Anderson – was presented at Commencement.

The awards ceremony also recognized outstanding faculty and staff with the distinguished Barbara C. Salken Outstanding Professor of the Year Award and the Award for Outstanding Staff Member or Department. These award recipients were also selected by a vote of the graduating class and honored for their impact on students and their overall contributions to the law school.


Madison Renee Shaff

The Elisabeth Haub School of Law Dean’s Award is presented to a graduating student in the full and/or part-time program who best demonstrates academic excellence, leadership, and service to the law school and community.

Madison (Maddie) Shaff was selected for the Dean’s Award because of her exemplary student leadership during her time at Haub Law, demonstrating outstanding commitment to academic excellence, public service, community spirit, diversity, equity, and inclusion. As President of the Law School’s Student Bar Association, Maddie has been a champion of creating community at the law school, spearheading many programs and initiatives, and raising awareness of important social issues that impact students and the broader legal community.

Madison Renee Shaff

The Adolf Homburger Humanitarian award winner is chosen by the graduating class in memory of the late Adolf Homburger.  He was a teacher, advisor, and scholar and he exemplified the ideals he attempted to impart: commitment and character: spirit and patience, warmth and modesty and devotion to careful scholarship. 

Madison (Maddie) Shaff was selected by her peers because of her dedication to the law school community, creating programming and opportunities for all members of the community to be included and heard.

Yasmin Noora Laskar

The Brightest Light Award honors a student who is consistently a “bright light” for their peers. Filled with positivity and joy, this student always inspires their peers to be happy.

Yasmin Laskar was selected by her peers for her kindness and warm-hearted personality with the student body. She is described by peers as a nurturing role model who always has encouraging words. An example of her inspirational leadership was displayed in her curated weekly morning mindset walks for residents, which focused on building a supportive community while promoting mental health.

Krittika B. Shah

The Co-Counsel Award honors a student who is a true partner, a person you can depend on to review your legal research, give feedback on your cross-examination and lean on when faced with challenges. This student always has your back and best interest in mind.  

Krittika (Kye) Shah was selected because of her loyalty and support to her friends and peers, and her strong work ethic. She is described by peers as always being a resourceful team player when working on projects. 

Michael Andrew Pabon Jr.

The Community Award honors a student who is passionate about public service and goes above and beyond to put their community first. 

Michael (Mikey) Pabon was selected because of his active involvement in campus life, leadership in mentoring peers while remaining studious, and his enthusiasm to help whenever needed.

Michael Robert Thompson

The Underdog Award honors a student who demonstrates incredible grit and determination at every opportunity and who is always fighting to be the highest version of themself, despite the obstacles that are thrown in their way.

Michael Thompson was selected because of his strength and determination when faced with extreme adversity. Michael is a wonderful friend dedicated to community service through his work at the Pace Health Law Clinic. Michael bravely overcame challenges to become a successful and passionate law student and has provided inspiration for his classmates along the way.


Professor Bridget J. Crawford 
Adjunct Professor Jared Hatcliffe 

The Barbara C. Salken Outstanding Professor of the Year Award honors a professor(s) who displays incredible commitment and character to their students and has a keen interest in current events in the law and society.

Professor Bridget J. Crawford received the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award for the 8th time! She teaches Federal Income Taxation; Estate and Gift Taxation; and Wills, Trusts and Estates. Her students describe her a passionate and enthusiastic professor who is a skilled educator, committed to law students and future lawyers. She is always available and willing to help any student and is a mentor to many students. 

Professor Jared Hatcliffe teaches Trial Advocacy and Motion Practice at Haub Law. His students say he demonstrates true compassion for all students, not only in the classroom, but in life. He is dedicated, passionate and always available for students to practice mock trials, make sure they understand the material, and advise them on internship and job opportunities. 

Dining Hall 

The Award for Outstanding Staff Member or Department honors staff who have been active in supporting the student body and who were effective in problem solving unexpected challenges, always providing top-notch customer service and care.

The staff of Chartwells Dining Hall was selected as a result of how they serve and support the student body. For many students, they provided a friendly face on campus, a listening ear when needed most, and took special care to ensure students had access to delicious food, providing the comfort of home that was so often needed. 

Click below to see more photos from the ceremony:  

Law School Awards Ceremony 2022

You May Also Like