Gender & the Law at the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University

Quad in Spring

Since Pace Law School first opened its doors in 1976, justice and equality for people of all gender has been a core focus for many of our students, alumnae, alumni and faculty members. The Law School offers a wide range of courses, clinics, externships, and extracurricular activities for students who are interested in all apsects of gender justice, including children’s rights, family law, LGBTQ issues, legislative reform, the judicial system, and public policy at the local, state, national and international levels. Our faculty members provide theoretical and practical leadership in a variety of areas with expected and unexpected intersections with gender, including business law, civil rights, criminal law, domestic violence, education law, employment law, environmental law, estate planning, health law, human rights, immigration law, jurisprudence, social media, and taxation.

Forthcoming and recent publications by Haub Law faculty members

Menstruation Matters: Challenging Law’s Silence on Periods book coverNoa Ben-Asher, “Sexual Innocence in Crisis-Justice Movements: A Political Theology,” in Enticements: Queer Legal Studies (Brenda Cossman & Jospeh Fischel eds., forthcoming 2022)

Bridget J. Crawford & Emily Gold Waldman, Menstruation Matters: Challenging Law’s Silence on Periods (NYU Press, forthcoming 2022)

Joshua Galperin, “Legitimacy, Legality, Legacy, and the Life of Democracy,” 45 Vt. L. Rev. 561 (2021)

Margot Pollans, “Eaters, Powerless by Design,” Michigan Law Rev. (forthcoming 2022)

Leslie Y. Garfied Tenzer, “An Emoji Legal Dictionary,” 83 Pitt L. Rev. Online 1 (2021)

Women’s Association of Law Students (WALS)

Women’s Association of Law StudentsThe Women’s Association of Law Students is a student organization dedicated to raising awareness of law-related issues that predominantly affect women. Our group, which is the largest student group on campus, offers a forum for information and support for women in the law. Our goal is to improve the status of women in the legal profession and in society at large.

WALS Past Presidents:

Deborah Mark 1989-90
Donna Nassor 1990-91
Susan Guarino-Oliverio 1991-92
Ana Gonzalez 1992-93
Adrienne Paule 1993-94
Joanna Bowen 1994-95
Alison Dodson 1995-96
Kristina (“Tina”) Hendrickson Allaire & Elizabeth Corwin 1996-97
Kristina (“Tina”) Hendrickson & Elizabeth Corwin 1997-98
Katherine Woodhouse McGerald 1998-99
Leicia Grant ‘06 2005-2006
Carly Grant ‘08 2006-2007
Carly Grant ‘08 2007-2008
Carly Lynch-McGuire ‘09 2008-2009
Melissa Baumgartner ‘10 2009-2010
Rachel Schwartzman ‘11 2010-2011
Melissa Peace Tomaino ‘12 2011-2012
Danielle Meeks ‘14 2012-2013
Danielle Meeks ‘14 2013-2014
Kiersten Schramek ‘15 2014-2015
Eve Lincoln ‘16 2015-2016
Amelia Christian ‘17 2016-2017
Alexandra Kontos ‘18 2017-2018
Morgan Weill ‘19 2018-2019
Jennifer Fineman ‘21 2019-2020
Juliana Palmieri ‘22 2020-2021
Amy Azzopardi ‘22 2021-2022

Pioneer of Justice Award

Every year, to recognize and celebrate the achievement of phenomenal women in our society who are breaking glass ceilings and laying down foundations for a more equal future, our organization chooses a recipient of the WALS Pioneer of Justice and Equality Award and celebrates her achievements at an event that is open to the entire Pace community, as well as members of the public.

Pioneer of Justice Award Recipients:

1996       The Honorable Janet Johnson, First woman appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals

1997       The Honorable Sondra Miller, First woman appointed to the Appellate Division, Second Department, State of New York

1998       Bonnie Campbell, Esq., Director, Violence Against Women Office United States Department of Justice

1999       The Honorable Judith S. Kaye, Chief Judge of the State of New York, New York Representative, State Court of Appeals

2000       Linda Fairstein, Esq., Deputy Chief Attorney, Trial Unit, Chief Prosecutor of the Sex Crimes Unit, Manhattan District Attorney’s Office

2001       The Honorable Fern Fisher-Brandveen, Administrative Judge, Civil Court of the City of New York


2003       Vicki Lutz, Esq., Executive Director, Pace Women’s Justice Center

2004       The Honorable Congresswoman Nita Lowey, New York’s 18th District, Representing Westchester & Rockland Counties

2005       Camille Failla Murphy, C.S.W., Director, Westchester Office for Women

2006       Dr. Sarah Weddington, Former Texas State Legislature, Attorney for Petitioners in Roe v. Wade

2007       Eleanor Smeal, President, Feminist Majority Foundation

2008       Catharine A. MacKinnon, Elizabeth A. Long Professor of Law, University of Michigan, and James Barr Ames Visiting Professor at Harvard Law School, International equal rights scholar, lawyer & activist

2009       Margaret L. Satterthwaite, Faculty Director, NYU Center for Human Rights & Global Justice

2010       Honorable Kathie E. Davidson, Supervising Judge, Ninth Judicial District Family Courts

2011       Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney (12th District, NY)

2012       Rachel Floyd, Founder, GEMS


2014       The Honorable Jenny Rivera, Associate Judge of the New York Court of Appeals

2015       Nancy D. Kellman, Esq. ('85)

2016       Darcel Clark, Bronx District Attorney and first African American woman to be elected DA in New York State

2017       The Honorable Sharon A.M. Aarons, Justice of the State of New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Third Judicial Department

2018       Jennifer Weiss-Wolf, co-founder, Period Equity

2019       The Honorable Susan M. Capeci, Supervising Judge of Problem Solving-Courts, New York State Unified Court System, Ninth Judicial District

2020       (no award due to COVID-19 pandemic)

2021       Congresswoman Grace Meng (6th District, NY)

2022       Elizabeth Lee, Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Australian Capital Territory

2021 Recipient Congresswoman Grace Meng (6th District, NY)
2021 Recipient Congresswoman Grace Meng (6th District, NY)


Watch the 2022 Pioneer of Justice Award Ceremony

Emerging Scholar Award in Gender & Law

The Haub Law Emerging Scholar Award in Gender & Law is presented annually in recognition of excellent legal scholarship related to gender and the law published by a full-time law professor with five or fewer years of full-time teaching experience. After an open call for submissions, papers are reviewed on a blind basis by members of the Haub Law faculty with expertise in this area. The Haub Law School invites the award recipient to present their winning scholarship to the Haub Law community.

Prior winners:

Marie-Amélie George (Wake Forest), “Exploring Identity,” 54 Fam. L.Q. 1 (2021)

Greer Donley (University of Pittsburgh), “Contraceptive Equity: Curing the Sex Discrimination in the ACA’s Mandate,” 71 Ala. L. Rev. 499 (2019)

Pace Women’s Justice Center

Pace Women’s Justice Center (PWJC) provides free legal services to victims and survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, and elder abuse. A nonprofit legal center serving Westchester and Putnam Counties, PWJC helps individuals navigate the legal system and obtain services related to divorce, custody, support, financial exploitation, public benefits, and housing. Through outreach events and training programs PWJC raises awareness, educates the community, and trains judges, police officers, attorneys, and social service providers on best practices when working with victims of abuse.

Pace Women’s Justice Center (PWJC) logo