Haub Environmental Law Distinguished Junior Scholar


Sharmila MurthySharmila L. Murthy is an Associate Professor and Director of Faculty Scholarship and Research at Suffolk University Law School.  She is recognized for her scholarship on access to drinking water and sanitation, and on state and local action on global climate change.  In 2020, she was honored with the university-wide Faculty Award for Outstanding Teaching and the Innovative Teaching Award from the Center for Teaching and Scholarly Excellence.  She also received the Faculty Woman of the Year Award from the Suffolk Law Women of Color Law Student Association in 2017.  She served as Chair of the Environmental Law Section of the American Association of Law Schools, which received the Section of the Year Award in 2019. 

Previously, Professor Murthy was a Fellow at the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy and a Visiting Scholar in the Sustainability Science Program, both at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. She also worked as public interest poverty lawyer through a Skadden Fellowship, and then litigated complex and class action cases. 

Professor Murthy received her JD from Harvard Law School, her MPA from Harvard Kennedy School of Government, and her BS in Natural Resources from Cornell University.  She is a former U.S. Fulbright Scholar to India.  She also clerked for the Honorable Martha Craig Daughtrey on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.  


The Haub Environmental Law Distinguished Junior Scholar Award is presented annually to an emerging junior environmental law professor who exhibits scholarly excellence and promise at an early stage in his/her career. The Haub School invites the award recipient to present his/her recent scholarship to the Haub community. The Haub Environmental Law Faculty solicits nominations from law professors throughout the country and selects a recipient from that pool of nominations.

Nominations are due by October 15 of each year and can be directed to Professor Jason J. Czarnezki


Prof. Shelley WeltonNovember 12, 2020 
Shelley Welton 
Associate Professor
University of South Carolina School of Law
Rethinking Grid Governance for the Climate Change Era

Professor Cliff VillaApril 24, 2019 
Cliff Villa 
Associate Professor of Law
University of New Mexico
Environmental Justice: Reflections and Renewal

Sharon JacobsSeptember 12, 2018
Sharon Jacobs
Associate Professor of Law
University of Colorado School of Law

Michael LivermoreSeptember 14, 2016
Michael A. Livermore
Associate Professor of Law
The University of Virginia School of Law
The Perils of Experimentation

Sarah LightSeptember 30, 2015
Sarah Light
Assistant Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Arctic Drilling and Wrongful Benefit

Michael PappasSeptember 24, 2014
Michael Pappas
Assistant Professor of Law
University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
Distributive Fairness, Equal Protection, and Takings

Sarah SchindlerSeptember 25, 2013
Sarah Schindler
Associate Professor of Law
University of Maine School of Law
Banning Lawns