You are here

Nicholas A. Robinson Alumni Achievement Award

Voting for the 2014 Nicholas A. Robinson Award winner is open until October 31, 2014. Please see below for this year's nominees. If you are a Pace Law alumnus, please email your vote to PEACCHAIRS@GMAIL.COM.

Richard Cogen (LL.M., 1996)

Richard Cogen is Co-Founder and Executive of the Ohio River Foundation (ORF). Mr. Cogen is responsible for the overall direction of ORF, including supervising ORF’s educators.  In addition to working with ORF trustees to strengthen the organization's financial health, program offerings, and fundraising opportunities, he finds time to join the education staff in the field presenting River Explorer to students around the tri-state.  Founded in 2000, ORF's mission is to protect and restore the water quality and ecology of the Ohio River and its tributaries for the health and enjoyment of present and future generations. ORF’s achievements include leading a successful effort in 2006 to force the Army Corps of Engineers to scrap plans to build auxiliary lock extensions on the Ohio River, which would have wasted $2 billion of taxpayers money.  More information is available on ORF’s website at

Emily Collins (J.D., 2005)

Emily Collins is the Executive Director of Fair Shake Environmental Legal Services, a non-profit organization that she founded to help those with modest means address environmental problems in Ohio and Pennsylvania. Ms. Collins began her practice as a student at the Pace Environmental Litigation Clinic in 2003 and then became an Assistant Public Interest Counsel at the Office of Public Interest Counsel in the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. In 2008, she took the helm of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law's Environmental Law Clinic as a Clinical Assistant Professor. She became a Clinical Associate Professor in 2013. In the same year, she founded Fair Shake ELS. In 2014, she became the Executive Director. Emily has is a frequent expert speaker on water law, oil and gas law, underground injection of wastewater, public participation in environmental decision-making, and environmental permitting and enforcement.  Additional information on Fair Shake ELS available on their website at:

Frederich Soltau (S.J.D., 2007)

Frederich Soltau has worked on a range of energy and climate change-related issues, focusing on the relationship between climate change, energy and sustainable development.  Since 2003, Mr. Soltau has served as a Sustainable Development Officer for the United Nations.  In this role, Mr. Soltau served as a lead analyst for sustainable development and sustainable governance issues for the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development, (a/k/a Rio+20) held in Brazil in 2012.  Mr. Soltau was then involved with the development of this set of universal sustainable development goals, which are contained in the Rio+20 outcome document, entitled, “The Future We Want.”  Mr. Soltau’s research interests are in the area of climate change with a focus on fairness in climate change law and policy, which resulted in the publication of a book based on his doctoral dissertation, "Fairness in International Climate Change Law and Policy," by Cambridge University Press in October 2009.  More information about Mr. Soltau can be found at

The Nicholas A. Robinson Alumni Achievement Award was established in 2005 to recognize Pace alumni who have made significant contributions to environmental law. In 2007, Professor Robinson requested that the Pace Environmental Alumni Council (PEAC) take over bestowal of this annual honor.

(Pictured above, Marla Weider, J.D. '93, received the 2009 Robinson Award for her outstanding work with the EPA cleaning up major hazardous waste sites in New York and the Caribbean.)

Past Recipients

Pace Law School is proud of the following recipients of the Nicholas A. Robinson Alumni Achievement Award for their significant contributions to environmental law:

Basil B. Seggos, JD '01
New York State Governor's Office

William J. Cahill, JD '95
W.J. Cahill & Associates

James R. May, LLM '91
Widener University School of Law

Marla Wieder, JD '93
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Robert J. Goldstein, LLM '92, SJD '01
United States Military Academy

Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., LLM '87
Waterkeeper Alliance

Brendan O’Neill, JD '85
The Vineyard Conservation Society

Maya van Rossum, JD '92
Delaware Riverkeeper