You are here

International Criminal Court (ICC) Moot Competition

Regional Round for the Americas and Caribbean (formerly the Pace International Criminal Court Moot Competition)

Pace Law School is proud to initiate the International Criminal Court Moot Competition. The Pace ICC Moot is the first-of-its-kind event, open to the international law school community, and bringing together disparate legal traditions in the context of a simulated case before the International Criminal Court. The competition offers each team of students the opportunity to participate in three rounds of oral arguments, representing the Prosecutor, Defense and Victims’ Advocate.

The annual International Criminal Court (ICC) Moot Competition held at Pace University School of Law is now the official English language round for the ICC Trial Competition held in The Hague. The new global competition is sponsored by the Dutch government, in cooperation with Pace Law School, the University of Amsterdam, the American Society of International Law, and the International Criminal Law Network (ICLN).

See highlights from the 2013 competition.

Congratulations to the Pace International Criminal Court moot court team who made history by winning the entire ICC Regional competition! The competition was held on Campus from March 1-3, 2013. Team members Brad Gorson (Captain), Kristen Carroll, Andrea Hlopko and Alexandra Ashmont worked tirelessly to achieve the team's success. With the dedicated support of her teammates, Kristen did an amazing job as the team's oralist in both the semifinal and final rounds. Professor Peter Widulski, the team coach, provide the team with guidelines and support while Professors Sasha Greenawalt, Tom McDonnell and Linda Wayner mooted the team and provided excellent advice. Former team members Lucie Olejnikova, Allison Kline and Joseph Sinchak generously devoted time to mooting the team and offered very valuable comments. Lucie, along with Professor Marie Newman, also provided excellent research and citation assistance.

As a result of this success, the Pace team will compete in the international rounds at the The Hague from April 21 - 26, 2013, marking the second straight year in which Pace has advanced to the The Hague competition. Congratulations to the team and to all who supported the team's effort!

A special thanks to Professor Matthew Brotmann, International Programs Director and Founder of the ICC Moot Competition and Board Members Dhara Patel (Student Coordinator Chair), Jacqueline Lee (Judges Chair), Miriam Lacroix (Fundraising Chair) and Ayishetu Rahaman (Bailiff Chair) whose hard work and dedication this past weekend made this student run competition a large success bringing praises from competing teams, judges and faculty members alike who claimed it was "the best ran competition they have seen thus far."

2013 ICC Moot Court Competition Winners - Pace Law School team: Alexandra Ashmont, Brad Gorson, Kristen Carroll, Peter Widulski, Andrea Hlopko
Pace Team (from left to right):
Brad Gorson, Alexandra Ashmont, Kristen Carroll, Prof. Peter Widulski, Andrea Hlopko.

ICC Moot
Pace Law School
78 North Broadway
White Plains, NY 10603
Fax: (914) 422-4229