Leadership Awards Dinner 2009

On behalf of Pace Law School’s faculty and many students, thank you for supporting the School’s Fifteenth Annual Leadership Awards Dinner. This year’s dinner, honoring Delores Scott Brathwaite ’84, Thomas R. Lalla Jr., and John J. Rapisardi ‘82, raised over $185,000. The dinner was the third most successful since the Law School opened its doors in 1976 and was a fitting tribute to the event’s 15th Anniversary.





Delores Scott Brathwaite '84 is responsible for the administration, implementation and enforcement of the Westchester County Human Rights Law, the Fair Housing Law and the Equal Employment Opportunity Laws. She assisted in obtaining protection under the Human Rights Law for victims of domestic violence; successfully obtained significant expansion of the remedies and penalties provided under the law and, under her leadership, the Commission's authority was increased from limited to countywide jurisdiction in order to handles human rights cases. In 2007, Delores spearheaded the creation of the county's first Fair Housing Law and in 2008 formed a partnership with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The Commission now has a Fair Housing Department which handles complaints of discrimination in housing in Westchester County. Under her leadership, the Commission has become a full service commission providing intake to adjudication of all cases of discrimination. Additionally, Delores heads the county's Office of Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action handling internal issues of alleged discrimination in employment. A graduate of Pace University, Pace Law School, and New York University Center for Labor and Employment Law, Delores is a Certified Mediator and Arbitrator. She also lectures and speaks on human and civil rights issues and employment law topics. Admitted to practice law in the State of New York, the US Federal District Courts and the US Supreme Court she is a member of several Bar Associations and is currently President of the Westchester Black Bar Association.



Thomas R. Lalla Jr. is the General Counsel and Senior Vice President of Pernod Ricard USA. Pernod Ricard USA is the U.S. subsidiary of Pernod Ricard, the world's co-leader in the spirits and wine industry. Tom supervises legal matters involving the brands produced and imported by Pernod Ricard USA, including Absolut vodka, Chivas Regal Scotch whisky, Malibu flavored rum, The Glenlivet Scotch whisky, Jameson Irish whisky, Kahlua coffee liqueur, Perrier-Jouet and Mumm champagnes, and Jacob's Creek Australian wines. Tom is a member of the board of directors of the National Association of Manufacturers and the Westchester Business Council. He has served as director of the Westchester-Fairfield Division of the American Corporate Counsel Association and as Chairman of the Legal and Judicial Affairs Committee, National Association of Beverage Importers. Tom currently contributes to the "Inside Perspective" column of Inside Counsel magazine. He has spoken at legal seminars on the topics of advertising in regulated industries, and developing or acquiring famous marks for the International Trademark Association. Prior to joining Pernod Ricard USA, Tom was a managing partner at the firm of Buchman & O'Brien. He served as an Assistant District Attorney for Westchester County, where he was a member of the Superior Court Trial Division. Tom is a graduate of Temple University School of Law and Fordham University. Tom is an Adjunct Professor at Pace Law School where he is currently teaching Mergers & Acquisitions and Products Liability. He is also a member of the Board of Visitors of Pace Law School.



John J. Rapisardi '82, Co-Chair of Cadwalader's Financial Restructuring Department, has more than 27 years of domestic and international restructuring experience across a variety of industries, including automotive, casinos, chemical, healthcare, retail, real estate, satellite, sports franchises, textile and telecommunications companies. John served as outside counsel to the United States Department of Treasury and the Presidential Task Force with respect to the restructuring of Chrysler, General Motors and Delphi. Most recently, he was selected by the United States Department of Treasury to represent the government in the restructuring of CIT, the distressed bank holding company. John was recently recognized by the Global M&A Network as "Restructuring Advisor of the Year" and received a Turnaround Atlas Award in this category for his work in 2008/2009. He has been named as a highly recommended international restructuring counsel in PLC Cross-border Restructuring and Insolvency Handbook, recognized as one of the leading restructuring lawyers in the U.S. by Chambers USA, and included in Best Lawyers in America. John is a graduate of Pace Law School and currently serves as a member of the School's Board of Visitors.







Vernon J. Brown, Esq. '96
Robert B. Marcus, Esq. '79
Steven J. Schwartzapfel, Esq. '80


Karen V. Hill
Camille Murphy
Kevin J. Plunkett, Esq.
Gerard Riso, Esq.
Sylvia Simon


Richard W. Babinecz, Esq.
Susan Taxin Baer, Esq. '85
Penelope Barnett, Esq.
Nichlas J. Bergman, Esq.
Paul S. Bird, Esq.
Rev. Canon Percy Brathwaite
Susan S. Brown, Esq. '87
David J. Burke, Esq. '88
Paula Sammons Butler, Esq. '03
Professor Jay C. Carlisle
Joseph P. Carlucci, Esq.
V. Gerard Comizio, Esq. '80
Lydia Peikon Cotz, Esq. '99
Brian Cousin, Esq.
Dean Angela M.D'Agostino, Esq.'99
George Davis
Gerald A. Dinallo, Esq.
Kathleen Donelli, Esq. '85
Alfred E. Donnellan, Esq. '81
Louis S. Ederer, Esq.
Jody Fay, Esq. '92
Joyce Ferraro, Esq.
Christopher B. Fisher, Esq. '94
Lucille A. Fontana, Esq. '81
Carla D. Glassman, Esq. '85
Jay M. Goffman, Esq.
Charles A. Goldberger, Esq.
Philip M. Halpern, Esq. '80
Kenneth James, Esq.
Adele Lerman Janow, Esq. '90
Richard A. Kissel, Esq.
Philip J. Kleiner, Esq.
Robert G. Kurzman, Esq.
Kevin Lavin
Joseph M. Martin, Esq. '91
Leslie Morioka, Esq. '93
Henry G. Miller, Esq.
Vice Dean Jeffrey G. Miller
William M. Mooney III, Esq. '92
Linda Niedweske, Esq.
Dean Emeritus Richard L. Ottinger
Judson K. Siebert, Esq. '85
Robert S. Tucker, Esq. '96
Hon. Lyndon Williams
Chauncey L. Walker, Esq.