Conference Speakers


Featured Speakers:


Pleanry Session:

Victor Dover, FAICP, LEED-AP, CNU-Accredited, Principal, Dover, Kohl & Partners

Victor Dover cofounded Dover, Kohl & Partners Town Planning in 1987 and serves as Principal-in-charge.  Along with his partner Joseph Kohl, Mr. Dover’s practice focuses on the creation and restoration of real neighborhoods as the basis for sound communities. He holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Virginia Tech and a Master of Architecture degree from the Suburb & Town Design Program at the University of Miami.

Mr. Dover lectures widely around the United States and internationally on the topics of livable communities and sustainable development.  Mr. Dover was cited by Architecture magazine as being among ‘‘the country’s best urban designers and architects.’’ Work by Dover & Kohl has been published in Southern Living, Urban Land, Metropolitan Home, and featured on HGTV, National Public Radio, CNN’s Earthwatch, and in BusinessWeek magazine. Their projects are also profiled in a number of planning textbooks, including The New Urbanism by Peter Katz, Community by Design by Kenneth Hall, Form-Based Codes by Dan and Karen Parolek, Sustainable Urbanism by Doug Farr, and Retrofitting Suburbia by Ellen Dunham-Jones and June Williamson. With John Massengale, Mr. Dover has authored a new textbook on The Art of Street Design, scheduled for publication by John Wiley & Sons in spring of 2013.

Victor Dover was National Chair of the Congress for the New Urbanism (CNU) from 2010 – 2012 and was the Founding Chair of the CNU Florida Chapter, the first of its kind. He is a CNU-Accredited Professional. He was a key player in the creation of the Form-Based Codes Institute and the National Charrette Institute, both leading think tanks for sustainable urbanism and community-based planning. Victor is a Fellow of the American Institute of Certified Planners, and winner of the John Nolen Medal for Contributions to Urbanism. He served on the core committee setting sustainable urbanism certification standards for the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design for Neighborhood Development rating system (LEED-ND).


Keynote Address:

Arthur C. Nelson, Ph.D., FAICP

Presidential Professor of City & Metropolitan Planning in the College of Architecture + Planning at the University of Utah, Director of the Metropolitan Research Center, Adjunct Professor of Finance in the David Eccles School of Business, and Director of the Master of Real Estate Development Program


Closing Address:

Donald L. Elliott, FAICP, is a Senior Consultant with Clarion Associates of Colorado, LLC, whose practice focuses on land planning and zoning, growth management, and international land and urban development issues. Mr. Elliott is the author of A Better Way to Zone (Island Press 2008), co-author of The Citizen’s Guide to Planning (APA 2009) and the editor of Colorado Land Planning and Development Law. Don has a bachelor’s degree in Urban Planning and Policy Analysis from Yale University, a law degree from Harvard Law School, and a master’s degree in City and Regional Planning from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard. He is a past national Chairman of the Planning and Law Division of the American Planning Association and a past president of the Colorado Chapter of the American Planning Association.



Thomas R. Babilon, Esq., Assistant Corporation Counsel, City of Syracuse

William G. Balter, Wilder Balter Partners Inc.

Paul Beyer, Director of Smart Growth, NYS Department of State Division of Local Government

John C. Cappello, Esq., Partner, Jacobowitz and Gubits, LLP

Arthur Collins, II, Principal, Collins Enterprises, LLC

David Dixon FAIA, Principal for Planning & Urban Design, Goody Clancy

Kevin Dwarka, Ph.D., Urban Planning Consultant

David Haight, New York State Director, American Farmland Trust

David Kooris, AICP, Director of the Office of Planning and Economic Development, City of Bridgeport

Sophie Lambert, AICP, Director, LEED for Neighborhood Development, U.S. Green Building Council

Jeffrey P. LeJava, Esq., Director of Innovation, Land Use Law Center, Pace Law School

Paula Levine, Managing Director, Wells Fargo Multifamily Capital

Ashley Ley, AICP, Senior Planner, AKRF, Inc.

Kermit J. Lind, M.A., J.D.Clinical Professor Emeritus, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University

Franz T. Litz, Executive Director, Pace Energy and Climate Center and Professor of Energy and Climate Change Law, Pace Law School

Mark Lowery, Climate Policy Analyst, Office of Climate Change, NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation

Dennis E.A. Lynch, Esq., Partner, Feerick Lynch MacCartney, PLLC

Thomas Madden, AICP, Commissioner, Department of Community Development and Conservation, Town of Greenburgh

Charles W. Malcomb, Esq., Associate, Hodgson Russ LLP

Mary Jennings Mahon, Special Assistant to the County Executive, Office of the Westchester County Executive

Seth McKee, Land Conservation Director, Scenic Hudson, Inc.

Dwight H. Merriam, Esq., Partner, Robinson & Cole LLP

Buck Moorhead, Partner, Building Consensus for Sustainability and Principal, Buck Moorhead Architect

John R. Nolon, Esq., Counsel, Land Use Law Center, Pace Law School

Rosemarie Noonan, Esq., Executive Director, Housing Action Council

Victoria L. Polidoro, Esq., Associate, Rapport Meyers LLP

Lindsay R. Robbins, Project Manager, NYSERDA

Martin E. Robins, Director Emeritus, Alan M. Voorhees Transportation Center, Rutgers University

George A. Rodenhausen, Esq., Partner, Rapport Meyers LLP

John Saccardi, AICP, Principal, VHB, Inc.

Lawrence C. Salley, AICP, Chairman, African American Men of Westchester Housing Committee

Deborah A. Scalise, Esq., Partner, Scalise & Hamilton, LLP

Richard H. Schaupp, Senior Vice President, Clarion Partners

Ken A. Schwartz, AICP, Principal/Corporate Planning Practice Leader, VHB, Inc.

Steven M. Silverberg, Esq., Partner, Silverberg Zalantis LLP

Sal Torre, Estreich & Company, Inc.

Alex Twining, President & CEO, Twining Properties

Aimee Vargas, Regional Director, Mid-Hudson Regional Office, Empire State Development

Michael Vatter, Esq., EFO, Chief of Department, Newburgh Fire Department & Chairman, Newburgh Community Land Bank

Chuck Voss, AICP, Senior Land Use Planner, Barton & Loguidice, P.C.

Meg Walker, Vice President and Director of Design, Project for Public Spaces, Inc.

Michael Weinstock, Group Vice President, M&T Bank

Ralph R. Willmer, FAICP, Senior Planner/Project Manager, VHB, Inc.