You are here

Officers of the Institute

Vikki M. Rogers

Vikki Rogers is the Director of the Institute of International Commercial Law at Pace Law School.  Ms. Rogers’ areas of expertise include online dispute resolution (ODR), international commercial arbitration and international sales law.  She has published widely in these subject areas and is regularly invited to speak on such topics.  She also consults on the development of online dispute resolution processes for domestic and cross-border disputes, particularly for electronic and mobile commerce.  She represents the Institute as an NGO observer in Working Group II and III at UNCITRAL, and  is also an expert advisor at UNCITRAL for Working Group III on ODR.    Ms. Rogers’ is responsible for maintaining the award-winning online CISG Database and is an Editor of the UNCITRAL CISG Digest.  She also developed and manages the online Certificate Program on International Commercial Law and International Alternative Dispute Resolution.   Prior to her position as Director at Pace, she worked as an associate at Mazur, Carp & Rubin, PC, and Shearman & Sterling (New York and Germany), focusing her practice on construction law arbitration and litigation, both domestic and international. She was also an international case manager at the ICDR at the AAA in New York, and has worked as a research fellow at the Universities of Heidelberg and Cologne in Germany.  She has taught International Arbitration at Villanova Law School and Introduction to US Law at the University of Heidelberg.  She currently teaches a CISG seminar at Pace Law School and the International Arbitration Practicum at Fordham Law School.  She earned a BA from Syracuse University, a J.D. from Pace Law School, and a Master of Studies in Environmental Law from Vermont Law School.  To dialogue with Vikki Rogers by e-mail, click here

Eric E. Bergsten

Deputy Director and Emeritus Professor of Law
Administrator, Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Eric Bergsten, deputy director of the institute, helped create the UN Sales Convention. He headed the team responsible for the Secretariat Commentary on it that was prepared pursuant to Resolution 33/93 of the United Nations General Assembly, and was thereafter Secretary of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law from 1985 to 1991. A Professor of Law Emeritus at Pace University School of Law, he is editor of the four volume looseleaf text International Commercial Arbitration (Oceana).

Albert H. Kritzer
Executive Secretary and Adjunct Professor of Law

Albert Kritzer, the Institute's executive secretary, was International Sales Counsel for the General Electric Company and is editor of the International Contract Manual (Kluwer). Recipient of the 1998 Award for Distinction in International Affairs of the New York State Bar Association, his presence on the staff of the Institute is in keeping with Willem Vis' vision: to join the talents of practitioners with the expertise of academic and UN personnel in projects that benefit the world trade community.



Willem C. Vis was the first director of the Institute until his untimely death in 1993. He headed the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law when the UN Sales Convention came into being and served as Executive Secretary of the Vienna Diplomatic Conference on the CISG. The Vis International Moot is named in his honor.

Nicholas Triffin. Until his death, Professor Triffin was the second director of the Institute. He was Director of the Pace Law Library, editor of Law Books in Print, and author of Legal Research Through Computers and Factual Research for Lawyers in Practical Research for Lawyers in the Information Age.

Dean Emeritus Richard L. Ottinger served as the third director of the Institute. Prior to that he served for five years as Dean of Pace Law School, retiring in July 1999. Prior to becoming Dean, he taught environmental law at Pace for ten years. For sixteen years he was a member of Congress, serving as a member of the House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee. He was a founding staff member of the U.S. Peace Corps.